sayonara bitchez

Image

This is a sad day. Very sad day indeed. One does not simply finish blogging about BCM110. It’s all-good I still have to blog for BCM112.

To be honest this exercise has not only made me consider various aspects of the media, its affects, its controls, and what it holds but the idea of creating an online prolife through blog form has actually been such an awesome assignment. The idea of tweeting and blogging not only allowed for me to spark some creativity through words but also created an online area for friendships to be made between classmates. Every lecture people race to tweet the funniest joke, comment or meme that is current and most relevant to the lecture, it’s actually quite amusing and an awesome way to discuss the topic with other people in the course.

Week one was a time for us to grow closer as friends, and allow me to ramble on about my life as I established myself as a blogger. Week two we dove straight into media affects on the public. I specifically went into detail about social media’s effects on young teenagers. With reference to eating disorders and body image being possible results of the pressure of social media to be “hot” or “skinny.” Week two had me look into a controversial media text where we discussed how my chosen advertisement was created to shock and audience and proposed to create awareness about the amount of oil used to create plastic water bottles. However I analyzed it as a media outlet that allowed them to advertise their own product. We discussed that we accept the ideology we allow it to become the way we think the world is to be. Week three had us talking and questioning about the ownership of Australian media and the power and control that the figures above these outlets had. Week five had us exploring the public sphere with references to big brother and the idea that reality television gives anyone their public display of opinion. Week six we looked at our tongue poking child star Miley Cryus opened debates about children, growing up, sexuality, drugs and the media.

This task has opened up a discussion amongst my own thoughts about the power of the media and how it can easily effect us all. I have been a victim of being governed by the media but after covering this information I feel as if ive been given the chance to be more discerning to what I do and don’t accept as truth from any given media outlet. I have 30 words left so I shall end with, thank you for opening my eyes and ears to being passionate about truthful media and with that I’m out.

Image

Peace. Alec.B


2 thoughts on “sayonara bitchez

  1. NOO! Alec! Please don’t stop blogging! i love your posts! You can so easily get your message across whilst still making this easy to read. I loved your posts! At least post one a month!!

Leave a comment